Tags

, , ,

 by Dr Margaret Aranda

Writer’s Challenge

 Dr Margaret Aranda’s Memoir Madness: Ages 1 – 31  

Read and enjoy as your Challenge starts on November 1, 2016

Get ready for fun and read Rules below

Here’s my Memoir Madness Age 1

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

It was my Father. I knew him. I had no fear. 

My Father held me, the scent of cologne feeling permeating my brain such that I can still close my eyes and smell it. There. I can do it now.  
I know he is gone, but it’s almost like he is just next door, always there. His arms were strong,
his hands with long gentle fingers that played “Two Guitars” on the piano.
Get it?
“Two guitars” playing on “one piano?”
That was his feeling sense of humor.

“If it makes you smile,” he said, “it was still a good joke.”

~My Dad, Salvador Manuel Aranda (1935 – 2006)
Summertime offers beamed into my  grandma’s from San Antonio family. La Paloma Restaurant still echoes in my blood. The smell  of coffee and bacon emanated in my nose, and the electric percolator gurgled and puckered its congenial hellos to my ears. My big family crammed into the room that hummed with conversation here, there giggles shouts and squeals joy peppered here and there.
Nutty children were just being children, running about boisterously slamming the doors just as all kids do. I still remember who was there…it is because I looked down on everyone. 
I could sit up straight, and my curly light  brown hair was tossed all about in freedom. I did not care about anything except my Father. He announced, “Watch!” while my Mother stood simply horrified. No, she was mortified!
My Dad told all to relax. She just stared at us.

“I did not care.”  

~Dr Margaret Aranda
      I just could not wait! I closed my eyes and imagined little I could fly! And then … slowly …. it StartEd ….
Age 1: Baby in the Sky for Father's Day
Image 1.  Up! Up! Up!   I tried with all of my might to hold still. I was a frozen smile.
                                                  Now, I was sitting in my Father’s hand.

Slowly, ever so deliberately and, as I was sitting on the edge of my Father’s hand, he lifted me up. He lifted me up! and Up! and Up! and UPPP! We went straight up to the ceiling, his hand and I

in perfect unison and symphonic harmony.
I closed my eyes for this style dance, and held in the mightiest burst of exclamations,
just as tight as I could. Up! Up!
I went again, dreaming of everything and dreaming of nothing.
I was On The Edge, suspended.
At his command, I Reached UP to the eyes of a magician’s audience, and slowly,
deliberately touched …. I …. I … I touched …the ceiling!

Those moments in time with my Dad,

I learned everything I needed to know about life and love.

Everything.

~Dr Margaret Aranda 
That was where I was going to stay. I had no fear.  
My Father would hold on to me,  just like always.  
I could do this. Together with him, I knew we could do it.  
Slowly, I begged to fly by as I held out both arms for balance. 
My arms remained still as a rock, but in my imagination,
I was a bird! High … above the clouds! 
I straightened my back. I held my breath, and wonderfully magnificently
My heartbeat pulsated, rocking Rapidly upon my neck.
The security and the freedom, the dichotomy of the safety and the danger
They entranced my mind to no end.
My Father had me.  
He was my Father.  
I knew it was him, and …

“I had no fear.”

~Dr Margaret Aranda
The End
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
 ~ For Father’s Day and for Always, I love you, Daddy!

          ….. Thank you for giving me the wings to just dare. 

margaret
You are always with me and in my essence. 
For always and forever.
I love you.
 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
THE END
~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Poetic Inspiration

by Victoria Lewin, Author of Caitlin’s List
http://caitlinswish.com/

A baby in the sky

She’ll be the apple of her daddy’s eye

Golden locks & eyes pure blue

A miracle from heaven for me & you

Sent to earth with Gods great plan

To ease the suffering of her fellow man

She’ll fill their hearts with strength and love

Pure white light sent from above.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Thank You to Victoria Lewin, Author: You give the biggest gift ~ inspiration to keep writing boldly. 

That’s a great and fantastic gift. Thank you.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Read Dr Margaret Aranda’s Memoirs:

Age 1: A Baby in the Sky for Father’s Day

Age 2: The Making of a Woman Intensivist

Age 3: In the Blink of a Car

Age 4: Respond, Don’t React

Age 5: A Baby on the Edge

Age 6: Glistening in the Moonlight

Age 7: The Pigeon Boy, The Suction Bush and The Darkness

Age 8: Selling Cupcakes

Age 9: Sitting on the Edge of a Cave

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Let’s Top it off with 

The First Ever

#BlogHopTweet!

You Are Invited to Dr Margaret Aranda’s Writing Challenge:

“Memoir Madness: Ages 1 – 31”

Previous years’ submissions are okay, of course. Just refine them.
For now, follow 31 days of Dr Aranda’s Memoirs, all posted to Twitter: @DrMargaretAranda
No Tweets of your own work yet, please! We want you to shine!
 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Starts November 1, 2016 ~ Get Your Pens Ready!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Preliminary Blog Rules (additions and modifications pending):
Blog then Tweet: 1 age/day for 31 days of childhood memoirs.
Then go read others’ memoir too ~ Leave a Comment ~ Tweet all around if relevant to you.

It’ll be a Blog Hop/Tweet!

Blog ~ then Tweet ~ then Hop ~ Then Tweet!

Hop here and there ~ Tweet everywhere ~ we all Hop over to your blog, too!

Original poetry, sketches, art and photography applauded.
Start from your earliest memory, of course!
Go ahead and use your artistic talent to self-modify…artistic talent encouraged.
OK to discuss relationships, mind, body, soul, mental health, spirituality, cancer, poverty, divorce, abuse, nutrition, puberty and more.
(As always, put a rider on your website for graphic topics.)

It’ll be a Blog Hop/Tweet!

Hop here ~ Comment! And then Tweet and RT!

We’ll Hop over to your blog, too!

It’s all in fun!

This article was originally published on http://www.drmargaretaranda.blogspot.com as a Blog Hop by someone Dr Aranda can’t recall. It was fun! Several renditions of it exist here and there.
©️ Copyright 2016 Aranda MD Enterprises. All rights reserved. Do not copy and paste any portion of this article, including quotes, without the expressed consent of the writer. OK to Tweet Screenshots or use Quotes: only if you Tag Dr Aranda here: @DrMargareAranda. Medical Disclaimer: Nothing is meant to convey medical advice, treatment or cure for any condition. Always see your medical professional in person for attention to your complaints.
